This is the "Heritage Room" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Collections   Tags: archives, heritage room, special collections  

The La Sierra University Library Special Collections is housed in the Heritage Room and is also home to the University Archives.
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lasierra.edu/specialcollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Heritage Room Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Intro to SDA History

Cover Art
A Brief History of Seventh-day Adventists - George R. Knight
Call Number: BX 6153 K64
ISBN: 9780828014304
Publication Date: 1999

 

Adventist Archives

Read tweets from the General Conference Adventist Archives:

 

La Sierra University Heritage Room

The Heritage Room preserves and displays the past and present of the Seventh-day Adventist Church and La Sierra University. We also maintain a number of Special Collections on a variety of subjects.

Books   We have thousands of books by and about Adventists, covering Seventh-day Adventist history, people, and ideas, the history of La Sierra University and other Adventist schools and colleges, the Sabbath-Sunday controversy, religious freedom, and scores of related topics. If you want to know what Adventists thought and said and taught and did, or what they're thinking and saying and teaching and doing now, you've come to the right place.


Periodicals   We have hundreds of journals, from the Adventist Review through La Sierra Today to the Youth's Instructor. Our current subscriptions let you keep up with what's happening now in Adventism, while our extensive back files let you learn what our predecessors said and did. If you're from outside of California, come down and keep up with what's happening back home, even if home is across an ocean or a continent.


Media   In the mood for something besides reading? We have video- and audio-tapes of University events, sermons, lectures, and other topics.

Subject Files Want to know what was going on behind the scenes, or never had a book written about it? Our growing files are filled with papers, pamphlets, brochures, clippings, and photographs; covering all sorts of material about La Sierra University, Adventist people, ideas, groups, and institutions. An index to the Document File is available.


Ellen G. White Study Center    Interested in the foremost Adventist in history? We are an Ellen G. White Study Center associated with the Ellen G. White Estate. We have many, many items on the life and ministry of Ellen G. White, as well as a copy of the White Estate's Question and Answer file. Everything you wanted to know (well, probably) about her is available.

 

Topic Guides

These topic guides provide helpful sources and suggest good methods of begining a research project in Adventism. They are meant to serve as a great starting point and are by no means comprehensive bibliographies.  Visit the Heritage Room or talk with a librarian for more helpful suggestions.

 

SDA Mission Work in Other Countries

Doing an assignment on the history of SDA missions, institutions, and evangelism in a particular country?  Check out this bibliography!

SDA Missions in Particular Countries 

(compiled by Tony Zbaraschuk)

 

Further Study

For additional SDA resources, see the University Library webpage Adventist Resources section.

To contact Ellen G. White Research Centers and Branch Offices worldwide such as Andrews University and Loma Linda University, see the White Estate website.

You can also search the writings of Ellen G. White.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip